Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan appoints new Directors

Montgomery, NY – The Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan is pleased to  announce its newest appointees to the Board of Directors: Jay Anthony and Raymond Heuchling. Jay Anthony, Vice-President and CIO of QLT Consumer Lease Services was appointed as a new board member. Anthony also serves on the following Boards of Directors: Pine Bush Central School District Board of Education (President); Soccer Plus Academy and is Co-founder of the Challenger Soccer Program for kids aged 5-18 who have special needs. Jay and his wife Carol live in Scotchtown with their two sons.

Raymond Heuchling, President of the Heuchling Group was also appointed to the board. Heuchling is a member of the Knights of Malta and a Eucharistic Minister. He is also founder and chairman of the Monroe-Woodbury Foundation, a civic organization dedicated to raising fund and initiating community programs for charitable and educational functions. Raymond and his wife Margaret live in Monroe. They have two grown children.

Directors of the Foundation include: Chris Ashman (Orange County Commissioner of Mental Health), Ann Barber Smith (Ann Barber Consulting), Michael Bonura (Anthony’s Pier 9), William Devitt (Merrill Lynch), Dorothy Fein (Community Volunteer), Joanne Gross (Community Volunteer), Philip Guarnieri (Empire State Bank), Sandy Leonard (Supervisor, Town of Monroe), Dr. Patrick Michel (Superintendent of Schools, Monticello), Anne Palmer Moss (Community Volunteer), Andrew Pavloff (Knack, Pavloff & Company, LLP), Gerald Skoda (Skoda Enterprises, Inc.), RJ Smith (RJ Smith Realty), Tom Sullivan (Smith, Seaman & Quackenbush, Inc. Funeral Homes), Steven L. Tarshis, Esq. (Tarshis, Catania, Liberth, Mahon and Milligram, PLLC) and Joe Vanderhoof (Times Herald-Record).

Officers elected to serve in 2010 are: President – Gerald N. Jacobowitz, Esq. (Jacobowitz & Gubits LLP), VP-Finance – David T. Cocks (Walden Savings Bank), Treasurer – Derrik Wynkoop (Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union), VP-Development – Josh Sommers (Focus Media), VP-Distribution – William Bratton (Community Volunteer), Secretary – Katharine Fitzgerald (Provident Bank), Assistant Secretary – Jack Berkowitz (Jack Berkowitz CPA).

The primary goal of the Community Foundation is to connect people who care with causes that matter. “We achieve this goal with the help of a large volunteer support system of Board members and working committees. Board members are selected because their professional and volunteer spheres of influence are compatible with the needs of the Foundation,” said Board President Gerald N. Jacobowitz. “We are extremely fortunate to have many prominent and community-minded citizens lend their talents in cultivating and managing charitable funds that will benefit our communities forever,” added Karen VanHouten,  Executive Director.

To learn more about the Community Foundation call 769-9393 or visit