Community Foundation appoints new officers and directors

The Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan recently named new officers and new directors to its Board of Directors for 2011.

The following Officers will serve another term:

Gerald N. Jacobowitz, Esq., founding partner of Jacobowitz & Gubits LLP, as President.  David T. Cocks, president of Walden Savings Bank, as Vice President – Finance, Derrik Wynkoop, Vice President of Retail Delivery at Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union, as Treasurer.  William Bratton, community volunteer, as Vice President  – Distribution.   Katharine Fitzgerald, Vice President of Provident Bank as Secretary.

Gerald Skoda of Woodbourne, President of Mid Hudson Co-operative Insurance Company, has been named Vice-President for Development.
Jack Berkowitz of Warwick, and owner of Jack Berkowitz, CPA in Goshen, has been named Assistant Treasurer.  He previously served as Assistant Secretary.

New Directors for 2011 are as follows:

John Davies, Executive Vice President of Riverside Bank.  Davies also serves on the Board of Directors for Dutchess County Regional Chamber of Commerce and SUNY New Paltz Business Advisory Council.

The Honorable Anthony T. Kane, retired Supreme Court Appellate Judge.  Kane has extensive judicial experience in Sullivan County and also serves on the Board of Directors for Hospice of Orange and Sullivan Counties.

Tim McCausland, Trust and Business Development Strategist with Orange County Trust Company.  Prior to joining Orange County Trust Company, McCausland was President of the Sullivan County Partnership for Economic Development.  McCausland has served on the Board of Directors for Sullivan County Chamber of Commerce and Hudson Valley Economic Development Corporation.

Susan Najork, retired owner of Collection Bureau of Hudson Valley, Inc.  Najork also serves on the Board of Directors for Hospice of Orange and Sullivan Counties, Mount Saint Mary College and Newburgh Day Nursery.  In addition, Najork serves as Auxiliary President of Hospice of Orange and Sullivan Counties.

Other Directors of the Foundation include: Jay Anthony (QLT Consumer Lease Services), Chris Ashman (Orange County Commissioner of Mental Health),   Ann Barber Smith (Ann Barber Consulting), Michael Bonura (Anthony’s Pier 9), William Devitt (Merrill Lynch), Dorothy Fein (Community Volunteer), Eric Fuentes (Orange & Rockland Utilities), Philip Guarnieri (Empire State Bank), Raymond Heuchling (Heuchling Group), Sandy Leonard (Supervisor, Town of Monroe), Andrew Pavloff (Knack, Pavloff & Company, LLP), RJ Smith (RJ Smith Realty), Josh Sommers (Focus Media), Tom Sullivan (Smith, Seaman & Quackenbush, Inc. Funeral Homes), Steven L. Tarshis, Esq. (Catania, Liberth, Mahon and Milligram, PLLC) and Joe Vanderhoof (Times Herald-Record).

The primary goal of the Community Foundation is to improve the quality of life by offering uniquely personal service, local knowledge and professional investment and grantmaking expertise that help donors make a lasting difference through their giving.  “We achieve this goal with the help of a large volunteer support system of Board members and working committees.  Board members are selected because their professional and volunteer spheres of influence are compatible with the needs of the Foundation,” said Board President Gerald N. Jacobowitz.  “We are extremely fortunate to have many community-minded citizens lend us their talents in cultivating and managing charitable endowment funds that will benefit our communities forever,” added Karen VanHouten Minogue, Executive Director.

To learn more about the Community Foundation please call 769-9393.