Connecting People Who Care with Causes that Matter

Community Foundation Concludes Record Year Welcomes New Board Chairman – Thanks Outgoing Chairman

Elizabeth Rowley (center), CFOS President and CEO, thanks outgoing CFOS Board Chairman Josh Sommers (left) and welcomes incoming CFOS Board Chairman Timothy McCausland (right).

The Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan concluded another record breaking year June 30, with over $1.5million in charitable grants and scholarships distributed during the year and total assets of just over $29million.  During the 2017/2018 fiscal year, 44 new funds were established by thoughtful friends, neighbors and businesses that will benefit area students and nonprofit causes in perpetuity.  The new year also brings a change in the leadership of the Board of Directors, as Timothy S. McCausland, Managing Director of Orange Bank & Trust Company, becomes the Chair of the Board, succeeding Josh Sommers, President and CEO of Focus Media.  Mr. Sommers served as Chair from 2016-2018, during which time assets of the Foundation grew from $18million to $29million.  This significant growth is due to the outstanding board he led paired with the hard work of a professional staff and loyal community volunteers.       

Mr. McCausland, an attorney and Sullivan County resident, brings a plethora of invaluable experience and knowledge and the Foundation will continue to thrive under his leadership.  Having joined the Board of Directors in 2009, Mr. McCausland has been a strong advocate for the Community Foundation for over nine years. His extensive background in legal matters, private banking and economic development will support Mr. McCausland’s role as an exceptional board leader for the Foundation. “I am honored to be selected by my director colleagues to chair this great organization. Josh Sommers concludes a superb turn as chair and his efforts will be hard to match. I look forward to working with Elizabeth and her team of professionals over the next two years to continue the support of so many great causes that directly impact the lives of our neighbors,” said Mr. McCausland.

The Foundation thanks outgoing Chairman Josh Sommers, President of Focus Media, for two successful years of leadership. Mr. Sommers joined the Board of Directors of the Community Foundation in 2006 and been part of the organization’s continued growth. “It has been one of my proudest professional moments serving as Chairman of the Community Foundation Board. CFOS serves a vital role in helping members of our community and facilitating philanthropy in our region. I look forward to continuing to be a part of this great organization,” said Mr. Sommers.  As a former radio personality and current president of a thriving full-service communications agency, Mr. Sommers has played an important role in bringing the Foundation to new heights. Mr. Sommers joins a distinguished list of the Foundation’s past chairpersons including Ruth B. Kassel, Esq., founding Board Chair (1999-2002), Richard J. Smith (2003-2009), Gerald N. Jacobowitz, Esq. (2010-2012), and Derrik Wynkoop (2013-2016).

Upcoming Events

New York Gives Day
Nov 27 all-day

“Snow” You Care For Youth! Dress Down Day to benefit Friends of the Orange County Youth Bureau
Dec 14 all-day

Please get your supervisors approval before wearing jeans or sneakers. All casual attire must be appropriate for the work place and for whatever meetings or functions you will be attending that day. Please use your best judgement. 

Cash or checks made payable to: “CFOS – Friends of the Orange County Youth Bureau” 

Click here to make a secure online donation. 

After making your donation, proudly download and display the snowflakes below. Write in the names of the youth you are “SNOWING” you care about! 


Christmas Eve
Dec 24 all-day

CFOS offices are closed.

Christmas Day
Dec 25 all-day

The CFOS Office is closed.

CFOS Office Closed
Dec 26 all-day
CFOS Office Closed
Dec 31 all-day
New Years Day
Jan 1 all-day

The CFOS office is closed.


30 Scott’s Corners Drive, Suite 203
Montgomery, NY 12549
Ph: (845) 769-9393
Fax: (845) 769-9391
e-mail us

Text CFOSNY to 22828 to sign up for our mailing list - Message and data rates may apply
Text CFOSNY to 22828 to sign up for our mailing list – Message and data rates may apply

Amazon Smile